Expand
Suburban Women's Clinic - abortion clinic in Houston, Texas

Texas Abortion Law

Texas Abortion Law

The State of Texas has imposed regulations in an attempt to intimidate women and harass abortion providers. However, we must abide by the laws of this state. Most respectable medical experts disagree with the information, but we still have to provide it even though it is not medically accurate.

The Texas Abortion Laws include a 24-hour consent, which means you MUST receive state mandated information at least 24 hours before your abortion.

This law also states that we must also provide (in writing) the following information to you at least 24 hours before your abortion.

Complaints

If you should have a complaint about your care at our facility, complaints may be registered at the following address:

Director, Health Facility Licensing and Compliance Division
Department of State Health Services
1100 West 49th Street
Austin, Texas 78756

Complaints must be in writing. All complainants must provide their name. This information will be confidential.

Department of State Health Services

The toll free number to the Department of State Health Services is 1-888-973-0022. You have the right to access certain information about this abortion facility by using this number. If you make a call, your identity will remain anonymous. This number can provide you with the following information:

  • Whether this abortion facility is licensed by the Department of State Health Services
  • The date of the last inspection of this facility by the Department of State Health Services and any violations of law or rules discovered during that inspection that may pose a health risk to you. 
  • Any relevant fine, penalty, or judgment rendered against this facility or a doctor who provides services at this facility.

“A Woman’s Right to Know” booklet

This booklet contains information on fetal development and risks of abortion and childbirth. It also has information on agencies that will help you continue your pregnancy or help with adoption. These agencies will not refer you to having an abortion.

You may view the department’s “A Woman’s Right to Know” materials on their web site at http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/wrtk/ or request to have it
by calling the department at 1-888-973-0022

Trust

We have always trusted women to make their own decisions without government intrusion. Unfortunately, the religious right wants to force their morals on others and this time they convinced the Texas Legislators. If you are outraged, contact your legislators in Austin and the Governor’s office.

Minors and Abortion in Texas 

Texas law requires parental consent for any minor under the age of 18 for an abortion.

We require the teen and her parent bring valid picture ID and the minor’s birth certificate. Please be sure to ask our clinic what forms of ID are acceptable.

Pregnancy calculator

To estimate the length of your pregnancy, enter the first day of your last period and then, press “calculate”.

Suburban Women’s Clinic always appreciates feedback from our valued patients.